Skip to main content

Cemetery Commission

     Carrington Cemetery c. 1900

The Town of Bethany manages five cemeteries in town:

  • Carrington Cemetery – 84 Rainbow Road – established 1793
  • Congregational Cemetery – 453 Amity Road – established 1839
  • Methodist Cemetery – 361 Litchfield Turnpike – established 1850
  • Old Cemetery – 89 Meyers Road – established 1755
  • Sperry Cemetery – 11 Brinton Road – established 1823

(The sixth cemetery in Bethany is owned and operated by Christ Episcopal Church.)

The Cemetery Commission was established in 2012 to provide oversight of the cemeteries owned by the Town and recommend rules and regulations for adoption by the Board of Selectmen.

There are five regular members and two alternates who are electors of the Town of Bethany and appointed by the Board of Selectmen for 3-year terms.

The Town has plots available for sale at the Carrington Cemetery on Rainbow Road.  The Town is also responsible for arranging burials and monument placements at Carrington, Methodist and Congregational cemeteries.  Please see the Price List below for plot costs and burial fees.  The rules and regulations for all Town Cemeteries is linked below, along with the Bylaws of the Cemetery Commission.


Cemetery Price List     Cemetery Rules & Regulations     Cemetery Commission Bylaws

Regular meetings are generally scheduled on the Third Thursday of each month.


Agendas & Minutes

Listing files in 'Cemetery Commission'