Bethany Sustainability Committee

Bethany Sustainability Committee is a non-political, advisory team of stewards focusing on the physical development and operating practices of our town which meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

Bethany is one of 30 towns registered with Sustainable CT, a statewide, comprehensive, action-oriented, voluntary certification program, created by and for municipalities.

Sustainable CT is designed to boost economies, increase efficiencies, reduce operational costs, provides grants, and support for municipalities.

In partnership with Sustainable CT, our Sustainability Committee focuses on the same commitments and action items and is particularly interested in the following areas:

  • Well-Stewarded Land & Natural Resources
  • Efficient Physical Infrastructure & Operations
  • Vibrant & Creative Cultural Ecosystems
  • Dynamic & Resilient Planning
  • Clean & Diverse Transportation Systems & Choices
  • Strategic & Inclusive Public Services
  • Thriving Local Economies
  • Healthy, Efficient & Diverse Housing
  • Innovation

You can find more information about action items on the Master Action List on the Sustainable CT website!

Sustainability Team will help Bethany navigate the Sustainable CT program and implement actions to achieve points toward certification.

Contact Us!

We invite residents to share the sustainability measures they use at home. Your input may be selected for the Bethany Bulletin! We look forward to hearing from you.

Bethany Sustainability Committee email:   

Committee Team:

Eric Frieden, co-chair

Gale Ridge, co-chair

Members at Large:

Amy Arnsten

Michael Kaloyanidis

Marie Pulito

Jenny Turner

Sheila Wade


Paula Cofrancesco, ex officio